How to choose a combination supplement
- Are key ingredients at effective doses? — Most people aren't low in biotin, so under 1,000 mcg is enough and 2,500 mcg at most. Studies used 2,500–10,000 mg of collagen a day, but pills and gummies often have only 50–1,000 mg — compare the label numbers. MSM is usually 2–3 g (start at 500 mg–1 g), zinc 15–30 mg, and vitamin C is meaningful at 100 mg or more. Many 'token ingredients' at under a tenth of these amounts lose points
- High-dose biotin and blood tests — Biotin at 5,000–10,000 mcg or more can throw off thyroid (TSH, T3, T4) and heart (troponin) blood test results. For any product with 1,000 mcg or more, stop 1–3 days before testing and tell your doctor. 10,000 mcg or more loses points
- Hidden amounts — If ingredients named on the product, like keratin, MSM or hyaluronic acid, are hidden in a proprietary blend without individual amounts, 'Not recommended'. If only minor ingredients are hidden, it's noted in the reasons
- Upper limits and excess — Adult upper limits: zinc 40 mg, retinol vitamin A 3,000 mcg, folic acid 1,000 mcg. Check totals with your multivitamin. With retinol vitamin A at 1,200 mcg or more, watch your total during pregnancy. For long-term zinc, check that copper is included
- Clashing combos and hormone-acting ingredients — Large amounts of iron with zinc or calcium in one pill interfere with each other's absorption. 'DHT-blocking' ingredients like saw palmetto act on hormones — avoid if pregnant or trying to conceive. Check for allergies with oyster or fish ingredients
- Better than buying separately? — A gummy that's biotin plus a little vitamin C and E is basically a biotin-only product — and plain biotin is cheaper. Gummies contain sugar (2–7 g a day). A combo is only worth it when it packs several ingredients at real doses and cuts your pill count
- Cost per day and label check — Calculated as price ÷ count × label daily amount and stored as a number only. If the same product can't be found on the NIH label database (DSLD), max 'Depends on your needs'. Review counts, star ratings and brand are not used
Best Hair, skin and nails supplements supplements on Amazon, compared
Bottom line
We checked the labels of 20 popular hair, skin and nails supplements on Amazon: 2 recommended, 14 depend on your needs, 4 not recommended.
- Best overall — Solgar Skin, Nails & Hair, Advanced MSM Formula: No biotin, so no worries about skewed blood tests
- Best value — Nature Made Hair, Skin & Nails with 2500 mcg Biotin: Simple: just biotin, zinc, copper and vitamin C in 1 softgel a day
- Women, with iron — Viviscal Hair Growth Supplements for Women: Just 240 mcg biotin — less worry about blood tests
- Gummy — Nature's Bounty Optimal Solutions Hair, Skin & Nails with Biotin & Collagen Gummies: Basically a 2,500 mcg biotin gummy — stop before blood tests
Recommended 2
Skin, Nails & Hair, Advanced MSM Formula
Tablets: OptiMSM, zinc citrate and copper chelate · Cost per day: average
MSM 1,000 mg, zinc 15 mg, copper 2 mg, vitamin C 120 mg, silicon 50 mg
- No biotin, so no worries about skewed blood tests
- 1,000 mg high-purity OptiMSM — a starting MSM dose
- 15 mg zinc plus 2 mg copper, balanced for long-term use
- 120 mg vitamin C and 50 mg silicon, no hidden amounts
No need for biotin, focus on nails and skin, frequent thyroid testing
View on Amazon Find on iHerbHair, Skin & Nails with 2500 mcg Biotin
Softgels, 1 a day · Cost per day: low
Biotin 2,500 mcg, zinc 11 mg, copper 0.9 mg, vitamin C 100 mg, beta-carotene (vitamin A) 750 mcg
- Simple: just biotin, zinc, copper and vitamin C in 1 softgel a day
- 2,500 mcg biotin — lower than high doses (5,000+ mcg), but still stop before blood tests
- 11 mg zinc with 0.9 mg copper (zinc is the oxide form)
- Vitamin A as 750 mcg beta-carotene; very low cost per day
Starting simple with one pill, good value
View on Amazon Find on iHerbDepends on your needs 14
Hair Growth Supplements for Women
Tablets: marine protein complex (AminoMar), with iron · Cost per day: high
AminoMar marine complex 900 mg, iron 20 mg, zinc 22 mg, vitamin C 118 mg, biotin 240 mcg, horsetail 73 mg
- Just 240 mcg biotin — less worry about blood tests
- 20 mg iron, 22 mg zinc and 118 mg vitamin C suit women who tend to run low on iron
- 900 mg AminoMar complex lists only the total, not the collagen-to-oyster powder ratio
- Contains oyster — avoid with shellfish allergies. Not for men or postmenopausal women who don't need iron; higher cost per day
Women with thinning hair and heavy periods who also need iron
View on Amazon Find on iHerbOptimal Solutions Hair, Skin & Nails with Biotin & Collagen Gummies
Gummies, tropical citrus flavor · Cost per day: low
Biotin 2,500 mcg, collagen 100 mg, vitamin C 15 mg, vitamin E 6.75 mg
- Basically a 2,500 mcg biotin gummy — stop before blood tests
- 100 mg collagen is under 1/25 of study doses (2,500–10,000 mg)
- 15 mg vitamin C, 6.75 mg vitamin E, 2 g sugar
- Among the lowest cost per day on this list
Can't swallow pills and want just a light dose of biotin
View on Amazon Find on iHerbOptimal Solutions Hair, Skin & Nails Gummies (Strawberry)
Gummies, strawberry flavor · Cost per day: low
Biotin 2,500 mcg, vitamin C 15 mg, vitamin E 6.7 mg
- Only 2,500 mcg biotin plus 15 mg vitamin C and 6.7 mg vitamin E — more a biotin gummy than a combo
- No collagen, MSM or zinc
- 2 g sugar; a plain biotin product is cheaper
- Biotin is over 1,000 mcg, so stop before blood tests
Can't swallow pills and want biotin only
View on Amazon Find on iHerbAlive! Hair, Skin & Nails Gummies with Collagen & Biotin
Pectin gummies, strawberry flavor · Cost per day: average
Biotin 2,500 mcg, collagen 255 mg, vitamin C 135 mg, vitamin E 30 mg, zinc 2.75 mg
- 2,500 mcg biotin with 135 mg vitamin C and 30 mg vitamin E
- 255 mg collagen is about 1/10 of study doses (2,500+ mg)
- 26 fruit and vegetable powders total 100 mg — token amounts
- 3 g sugar; vitamin A as 450 mcg retinol
Biotin and vitamin C together in a gummy
View on Amazon Find on iHerbAdvanced (Extra Strength) Hair, Skin & Nails Rapid Release Softgels
Liquid softgels, 3 a day · Cost per day: low
Biotin 5,000 mcg, vitamin A (retinol) 1,500 mcg, vitamin C 60 mg, zinc 7.5 mg, iron 3 mg, collagen 50 mg, hyaluronic acid 30 mg
- 5,000 mcg biotin — can skew thyroid and heart blood tests; stop 1–3 days before testing
- B vitamins, 60 mg vitamin C and 7.5 mg zinc — closer to a light multivitamin
- Collagen 50 mg, hyaluronic acid 30 mg, argan oil 25 mg and horsetail 3 mg are token amounts
- Vitamin A is 1,500 mcg retinol — with a multivitamin or during pregnancy, keep your total under 3,000 mcg
No multivitamin and want B vitamins and biotin in one (not during pregnancy)
View on Amazon Find on iHerbHair, Skin & Nails with Argan Oil & Collagen
Softgels, 3 a day · Cost per day: low
Biotin 5,000 mcg, vitamin A (retinol) 1,200 mcg, vitamin D 1,300 IU, folate 400 mcg, zinc 7.5 mg, collagen 60 mg
- Couldn't find the same product on the NIH label database (checked the brand's label)
- 5,000 mcg biotin — can skew thyroid and heart blood tests; stop 1–3 days before testing
- B vitamins, 1,300 IU vitamin D and 7.5 mg zinc; collagen 60 mg, argan oil 25 mg and horsetail 3 mg are token amounts
- Vitamin A is 1,200 mcg retinol — check your total with a multivitamin or during pregnancy
B vitamins and biotin in one instead of a multivitamin (not during pregnancy)
View on Amazon Find on iHerbHealthy Hair, Skin & Nails
Capsules: methyl B12 and active folate · Cost per day: average
Biotin 5,000 mcg, MSM 500 mg, silicon 20 mg, vitamin C 90 mg, B12 (methyl) 30 mcg
- Per the label database, 5,000 mcg biotin in 2 capsules — can skew thyroid and heart blood tests; stop 1–3 days before testing
- 500 mg MSM is about a quarter of the usual dose (2–3 g)
- Listing title says 3,000 mcg biotin and marine collagen, but the label database shows only 152 mg gelatin (capsule) — check the label on your bottle
- Cut to 1 capsule for 2,500 mcg biotin
Wanting active B12 and folate, adjusting with 1 capsule
View on Amazon Find on iHerbUltra Strength Hair Softgels
Softgels, 1 a day · Cost per day: average
Biotin 3,000 mcg, keratin 150 mg, vitamin D 800 IU, zinc 5.5 mg, copper 0.45 mg, folate 200 mcg DFE
- 3,000 mcg biotin — stop before blood tests
- Keratin 150 mg, vitamin D 800 IU, zinc 5.5 mg, copper 0.45 mg
- Small amounts of amla extract (25 mg) and silica (21 mg)
- 30 count for a month, so higher cost per day
One softgel a day with keratin
View on Amazon Find on iHerbUndeniable Beauty Gummies (Grapefruit)
Gummies, grapefruit flavor · Cost per day: average
Biotin 2,500 mcg, keratin 50 mg, vitamin C 15 mg, vitamin E 7.5 mg
- 2,500 mcg biotin with 15 mg vitamin C and 7.5 mg vitamin E — basically a biotin gummy
- 50 mg keratin is a small amount
- 2 g sugar; costs more than plain biotin
- Stop biotin before blood tests
Biotin only, in a tasty gummy
View on Amazon Find on iHerbGorgeous Hair, Skin & Nails Gummies
Gummies, 3 a day · Cost per day: average
Biotin 5,000 mcg, vitamin A 720 mcg, vitamin D 1,000 IU, vitamin C 90 mg, zinc 7.5 mg, iodine 120 mcg
- 5,000 mcg biotin — can skew thyroid and heart blood tests; stop 1–3 days before testing
- Vitamin D 1,000 IU, vitamin C 90 mg, some B vitamins, iodine 120 mcg, zinc 7.5 mg
- No collagen or MSM
- 7 g added sugar in 3 gummies — among the sugariest gummies on this list
Can't swallow pills and want it to double as a gummy multivitamin
View on Amazon Find on iHerbHair Skin Nails+ with Milk Thistle
Tablets, 1 a day · Cost per day: low
Zinc 30.2 mg, biotin 2,340 mcg, iron 4.6 mg, vitamin C 45 mg, silicon 36 mg, milk thistle 12.86 mg
- Couldn't find the same product on the NIH label database (checked the product page label)
- 30.2 mg zinc — under the 40 mg limit, but easy to exceed with a multivitamin, and no copper
- 4.6 mg iron and 30 mg zinc in one tablet interfere with each other's absorption
- 2,340 mcg biotin (stop before blood tests); 12.86 mg milk thistle is a token amount
Planning to take 20–30 mg zinc anyway (don't combine with other zinc products)
View on Amazon Find on iHerbHair Vitamin Gummy, Advanced Hair, Skin & Nails (5000mcg Biotin)
Pectin gummies, berry flavor · Cost per day: low
Biotin 5,000 mcg, vitamin A 630 mcg, vitamin D 10 mcg, folate 433 mcg DFE, zinc 2.7 mg
- Couldn't find the same product on the NIH label database (checked the product page label)
- 5,000 mcg biotin — can skew thyroid and heart blood tests; stop 1–3 days before testing
- Vitamin A 630 mcg, some B vitamins, zinc 2.7 mg; inositol 40 mcg and choline 0.04 mg are token amounts
- No collagen or MSM; 3 g added sugar
Biotin and basic vitamins together in a gummy
View on Amazon Find on iHerbHair Skin and Nails Gummies (Vegan Biotin)
Pectin gummies · Cost per day: high
Biotin 5,000 mcg, vitamin A 630 mcg, folate 433 mcg DFE, vitamin E 15 mg, zinc 2.7 mg
- Couldn't find the same product on the NIH label database (checked the product page label)
- 5,000 mcg biotin — can skew thyroid and heart blood tests; stop 1–3 days before testing
- Label lists vitamin D as '10 mg' (10 mcg by %DV) — sloppy labeling
- Nearly the same formula as similar gummies, but several times the cost per day
Only take vegan gummies
View on Amazon Find on iHerbHair, Skin & Nails w/ Lustriva Biotin
Softgels, 2 a day · Cost per day: high
Biotin 10,000 mcg, hyaluronic acid 120 mg, keratin 100 mg, collagen 100 mg
- Couldn't find the same product on the NIH label database (checked the product page label)
- 10,000 mcg biotin (Lustriva 160 mg) — can skew thyroid and heart blood tests; stop 1–3 days before testing
- 120 mg hyaluronic acid is a real dose; keratin 100 mg
- 100 mg collagen is under 1/25 of study doses (2,500–10,000 mg); higher cost per day
No blood tests coming up, wanting hyaluronic acid in the same pill
View on Amazon Find on iHerbNot recommended 4
Hair Vitamin Gummy Extra Strength Biotin 6000mcg
Vegan gummies, 1 a day · Cost per day: high
Biotin 6,000 mcg, vitamin D 20 mcg, zinc 2.2 mg, SmartRoot blend 50 mg (MSM, inositol, omega-3 and more; individual amounts not disclosed)
- Couldn't find the same product on the NIH label database (checked the product page label)
- 6,000 mcg biotin — can skew thyroid and heart blood tests; stop 1–3 days before testing
- MSM, inositol, omega-3, elderberry and pectin all go into a 50 mg 'SmartRoot' blend with no individual amounts — token amounts next to the usual MSM dose (2–3 g)
- Higher cost per day
Not recommended — plain biotin or a simple product like Nature Made is better
View on Amazon Find on iHerbBiotin, Collagen & Keratin + Full B-Complex
Capsules, 2 a day · Cost per day: high
Biotin 5,000 mcg, vitamin A (retinol) 1,200 mcg, pantothenic acid 50 mg, fish collagen 310 mg, blend 400 mg (MSM, keratin and more; individual amounts not disclosed)
- Couldn't find the same product on the NIH label database (checked the product page label)
- Keratin and MSM, named on the product, are hidden in a 400 mg blend without individual amounts
- 310 mg collagen is about 1/8 of study doses (2,500+ mg)
- 5,000 mcg biotin (stop before blood tests), 1,200 mcg retinol vitamin A — contains fish
Not recommended — choose a product that discloses every amount
View on Amazon Find on iHerbMultiMane Collagen, Biotin, Keratin, Hyaluronic Acid & Saw Palmetto
Capsules, 3 a day · Cost per day: high
Biotin 10,000 mcg, collagen blend 1,000 mg, keratin blend 500 mg (individual amounts not disclosed), saw palmetto 250 mg, folate 588 mcg
- Couldn't find the same product on the NIH label database (checked the product page label)
- 10,000 mcg biotin — can skew thyroid and heart blood tests; stop 1–3 days before testing
- Keratin, hyaluronic acid and MSM in a 500 mg blend, green tea extract and others in a 150 mg blend, no individual amounts. 1,000 mg collagen also falls short of study doses (2,500–10,000 mg)
- 250 mg saw palmetto is a 'DHT blocker' that acts on hormones — don't take if pregnant or trying to conceive
Not recommended — picking ingredients separately is safer
View on Amazon Find on iHerbLiquid Biotin & Collagen Hair Growth Drops 60,000mcg
Liquid drops, 1 mL (half a dropper) · Cost per day: average
Biotin 10,000 mcg, collagen 20 mg (per 1 mL)
- Couldn't find the same product on the NIH label database (checked the product page label)
- 10,000 mcg biotin per 1 mL, 20,000 mcg in 2 mL — can skew thyroid and heart blood tests; stop 1–3 days before testing
- 20 mg collagen per 1 mL — under 1/100 of study doses (2,500+ mg)
- The '60,000 mcg' in the title adds up the biotin and collagen in 2 mL
Not recommended — far too much biotin and almost no collagen
View on Amazon Find on iHerb