Key numbers
- 25 of 48 (52%) popular vitamin D supplements are 5,000 IU (125 mcg) per capsule.
- Taken as the label directs, 31 of 48 (65%) exceed the adult upper limit of 4,000 IU a day — and that limit counts vitamin D from food and other supplements too. High doses like 5,000 IU are typically used short-term to correct a deficiency, or taken every other day.
- Only 14 products are in the 1,000–2,000 IU range most adults use for maintenance; 1 is under 1,000 IU and 6 are 10,000 IU or more per capsule.
- 16 products add vitamin K2; 11 of them clearly state the MK-7 form, the rest use MK-4, a mix, or don’t say.
- Unit check: 1 mcg = 40 IU, so 1,000 IU = 25 mcg and 5,000 IU = 125 mcg. US labels now list vitamin D in mcg first.
Daily dose on the label
| Daily dose on the label | Products | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Under 1,000 IU | 1 | 2% |
| 1,000–2,000 IU (maintenance) | 14 | 29% |
| 2,500–5,000 IU | 27 | 56% |
| 5,001–10,000 IU (incl. weekly 50,000 IU ÷ 7) | 6 | 13% |
Full product table
| Product | Form | Per capsule | Daily dose on label | % of 4,000 IU limit | K2 | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vitamin D-3 10,000 IU Softgels NOW Foods | D3 in olive oil softgels | 10,000 IU (250 mcg) | 10,000 IU (250 mcg) ⚠ | 250% | - | Depends |
| Vitamin D3 10000 IU (250 mcg) Softgels (400 ct) Carlyle | D3 softgels (per seller) | 10,000 IU (250 mcg) | 10,000 IU (250 mcg) ⚠ | 250% | - | Depends |
| Vitamin D3 (Cholecalciferol) 250 mcg (10,000 IU) Softgels Solgar | D3 in safflower oil softgels | 10,000 IU (250 mcg) | 10,000 IU (250 mcg) ⚠ | 250% | - | Depends |
| Vitamin D3 10,000 IU + K2 MK-7 200 mcg Softgels Micro Ingredients | D3 + K2 (MK-7) in coconut oil softgels | 10,000 IU (250 mcg) | 10,000 IU (250 mcg) ⚠ | 250% | 200 mcg (MK-7) | Depends |
| D3 10,000 + K Softgels Metagenics | D3 + K1 and K2 (MK-7) softgels | 10,000 IU (250 mcg) | 10,000 IU (250 mcg) ⚠ | 250% | 110 mcg (K1 20mcg + MK-7 90mcg) | Not recommended |
| Vitamin D3 50,000 IU Weekly Capsules ForestLeaf | D3 capsules (once a week) | 50,000 IU (1,250 mcg) | 7,143 IU (178.6 mcg) (weekly dose ÷ 7) ⚠ | 179% | - | Not recommended |
| Vitamin D3 5000 IU Softgels Viva Naturals | D3 in coconut oil softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 5000 IU Softgels Doctor's Best | D3 in olive oil softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 5000 IU Mini Softgels NatureWise | D3 in olive oil mini softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 5000 IU Softgels Amazon Elements | D3 in soybean oil softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D-3 5,000 IU High Potency Softgels NOW Foods | D3 in olive oil softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 5000 IU with Coconut Oil Sports Research | D3 in coconut oil softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 5000 IU Softgels Nature's Bounty | D3 in soybean oil softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 5000 IU Softgels Nature Made | D3 in soybean oil softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 125 mcg (5000 IU) Softgels Life Extension | D3 in olive oil and MCT softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | - | Recommended |
| Sunvite Mega-Potency Vitamin D3 5,000 IU Puritan's Pride | D3 in soybean oil softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 + K2 MK-7 5,000 IU Softgels Micro Ingredients | D3 + K2 (MK-7) softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | 100 mcg (MK-7) | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 + K2 (5000 IU D3 / 100 mcg MK-7) Softgels Nutricost | D3 + K2 (MK-7) in sunflower oil softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | 100 mcg (MK-7) | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 125 mcg (5,000 IU) Capsules Pure Encapsulations | D3 capsules | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | - | Depends |
| Vitamin D-5,000 Capsules Thorne | D3 capsules | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | - | Depends |
| Vitamin Code Raw D3 5,000 IU Garden of Life | D3 capsules (with vegetables and probiotics) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | - | Depends |
| Vitamin D3 5,000 IU + K2 MK7 Softgels Deal Supplement | D3 + K2 (MK-4 and MK-7 blend) softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | 100 mcg (MK-4+MK-7 (ratio not stated)) | Depends |
| Vitamin K2 (MK7) + D3 Capsules Bronson | D3 + K2 (MK-7) capsules | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | 90 mcg (MK-7) | Depends |
| Vitamin D3 + K2 VegCaps Solaray | D3 + K2 (MK-7) capsules | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | 50 mcg (MK-7) | Depends |
| D3 + K2 Veggie Capsules ZHOU | D3 + K2 (MK-7) capsules | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | 90 mcg (MK-7) | Depends |
| Vegan Vitamin D3 + K2 with Coconut Oil Sports Research | Vegan D3 + K2 (MK-7) plant-based softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | 100 mcg (MK-7) | Depends |
| Vitamin D3 + K2 Softgels Nature Made | D3 + K2 (MK-7) in soybean oil softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | 100 mcg (MK-7) | Depends |
| Vitamin K2 MK7 with D3 Softgels Live Conscious | D3 + K2 (MK-7) in avocado oil softgels | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | 100 mcg (MK-7) | Depends |
| 7-in-1 Vitamin D3 K2 5000 IU Dr. Berg | D3 + K2 (MK-7) + zinc, B6 and more, capsules | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | 50 mcg (MK-7) | Not recommended |
| High Potency Vitamin D3 5000 IU Veg Capsules Innervis Nutrition | D3 plant-based capsules (oil-free) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | - | Depends |
| Vitamin D3 5000 IU + K2 MK-7 100 mcg Capsules Innervis Nutrition | D3 + K2 (MK-7) capsules | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) | 5,000 IU (125 mcg) ⚠ | 125% | 100 mcg (MK-7) | Depends |
| Vitamin D3 & K2 4,000 IU/100 mcg Capsules Pure Encapsulations | D3 + K2 capsules | 4,000 IU (100 mcg) | 4,000 IU (100 mcg) | 100% | 100 mcg (unverified) | Depends |
| Immune Boost Complex (Vitamin C 900 mg, D3 2,500 IU, Zinc 25 mg) Innervis Nutrition | D3 + vitamin C and zinc combo capsules | 2,500 IU (62.5 mcg) | 2,500 IU (62.5 mcg) | 63% | - | Depends |
| Vitamin D-3 2,000 IU Softgels NOW Foods | D3 in olive oil softgels | 2,000 IU (50 mcg) | 2,000 IU (50 mcg) | 50% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 2000 IU Softgels Nature's Bounty | D3 in soybean oil softgels | 2,000 IU (50 mcg) | 2,000 IU (50 mcg) | 50% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 2000 IU Mini Softgels NatureWise | D3 in olive oil mini softgels | 2,000 IU (50 mcg) | 2,000 IU (50 mcg) | 50% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 2000 IU Tablets Nature Made | D3 tablets | 2,000 IU (50 mcg) | 2,000 IU (50 mcg) | 50% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 2000 IU Softgels Nature Made | D3 in soybean oil softgels | 2,000 IU (50 mcg) | 2,000 IU (50 mcg) | 50% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 2000 IU Softgels (400 ct) Carlyle | D3 softgels (per seller) | 2,000 IU (50 mcg) | 2,000 IU (50 mcg) | 50% | - | Depends |
| Vitamin D3 2000 IU Gummies Amazon Basics | Gummies | 1,000 IU (25 mcg) | 2,000 IU (50 mcg) | 50% | - | Depends |
| Vitamin D3 Gummies 2000 IU per 2 Gummies vitafusion | Gummies | 1,000 IU (25 mcg) | 2,000 IU (50 mcg) | 50% | - | Depends |
| Vitamin D3 2000 IU Gummies Nature Made | Gummies | 1,000 IU (25 mcg) | 2,000 IU (50 mcg) | 50% | - | Depends |
| Vitamin D3 1000 IU Softgels Nature's Bounty | D3 in soybean oil softgels | 1,000 IU (25 mcg) | 1,000 IU (25 mcg) | 25% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D-3 1,000 IU Softgels NOW Foods | D3 in olive oil softgels | 1,000 IU (25 mcg) | 1,000 IU (25 mcg) | 25% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D3 1000 IU Softgels Nature Made | D3 in soybean oil softgels | 1,000 IU (25 mcg) | 1,000 IU (25 mcg) | 25% | - | Recommended |
| Vitamin D-3 & K-2 1,000 IU / 45 mcg Capsules NOW Foods | D3 + K2 (MK-4) capsules | 1,000 IU (25 mcg) | 1,000 IU (25 mcg) | 25% | 45 mcg (MK-4) | Not recommended |
| Vitamin D + K2 Liquid Thorne | Liquid drops (D3 + K2, MCT oil) | 500 IU (12.5 mcg) | 1,000 IU (25 mcg) | 25% | 200 mcg (form not stated) | Depends |
| Vitamin D-3 400 IU Softgels NOW Foods | D3 in olive oil softgels | 400 IU (10 mcg) | 400 IU (10 mcg) | 10% | - | Not recommended |
How we collected this
We checked the Supplement Facts of 48 popular Amazon products against the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database and the product listings (as of 2026-10-12). Every brand is rated by the same rules; review counts and star ratings are not used. Discontinued or out-of-stock products are removed in weekly checks.